You probably don’t think about it much, but creamer is a very common addition to your cup of coffee. Whether you like sweetened or unsweetened, sugar-free or regular, it’s an essential part of most people’s morning routine. Unfortunately, as with many other favorite foods, it also has some hidden sources of gluten if you are not careful and know which creamer to use.
Creamer comes in many varieties with different flavors and additives. Some brands of cream have natural added flavors and others are artificial. Some brands add carbohydrates to thicken the cream and others do not.
Depending on the brand or variety you choose, the number of carbohydrates in your creamer could be almost nothing, or up to a third of its total volume, continue reading to solve the puzzle around coffee creamers.
Does Coffee Creamer Have Gluten?
Yes and no, depending on the brand you are choosing and familiar with. Creamer is a dairy product that is added to coffee. It’s usually made from milk and cream that has been boiled, mixed with emulsifiers and thickeners like carrageenan, and then flavored with things like vanilla.
Some brands use natural flavorings and others use artificial flavors. Most creamers also contain corn syrup or sugar as a sweetener. These sweeteners may be derived from corn, which is often contaminated with gluten-containing grains due to the way it is grown and processed.
Creamers are also usually fortified with vitamins and minerals like folic acid, which is made with wheat germ. Creamers may also contain other gluten-containing ingredients like cornstarch, modified corn starch, caramel coloring, and maltodextrin. The correct answer is to read and understand the label on the product, this will give you the most accurate information, does the creamer contain gluten or not.
Can you drink coffee if you are gluten intolerant?
If you have celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity, you should not drink coffee because it is made from grains that contain gluten. You can only drink gluten-free coffee. The only way to know for sure if a coffee brand is gluten-free is to read the label.
If you have gluten sensitivity, you can drink coffee, but you need to find a gluten-free brand. Because not all coffee beans are gluten-free, your best bet is to buy a brand that you know is gluten-free.
How to Find Out if Your Morning Creamer Has Gluten
Fortunately, gluten-free labels are standard and easy to understand, and they are now required on almost all products sold in the U.S. That means you can simply read the label to find out if your favorite creamer has gluten.
Unfortunately, research shows that only half of American consumers actually read the label when they shop. If you don’t read the label and rely on your memory, you could easily make a mistake. Celiac Disease Foundation recommends that you search for ingredients on a product’s website if you don’t have the product in front of you.
Brands of Coffee Creamer That Are Always Gluten-Free
Most major brands of coffee creamer are gluten-free, but you should always check the label. Gluten-free brands that are always gluten-free include Almond Breeze: Almond Breeze is a big name brand that produces non-dairy creamers as well as coffee creamers.
Non-dairy coffee creamer is a good choice for people who don’t drink dairy. Blue Diamond: Blue Diamond is a major almond brand, and they make a variety of coffee creamers that are gluten-free. Boomerang: This Australian coffee brand makes coffee creamers with natural ingredients that are always gluten-free.
Coffee creamer is mostly dairy with a few additives and flavors. The only thing that makes it gluten-free is that it is not made from wheat. If you have celiac disease or gluten sensitivity, you should avoid coffee creamer because it may contain trace amounts of gluten.
Find a brand that you like, and then make a habit of reading the ingredients list to stay gluten-free. You can enjoy your coffee and your creamer without worrying about gluten.